The State of West Virginia was the site of one of the most important events before the Civil War. At Harper’s Ferry Arsenal, John Brown’s 1859 raid attempted to gather enough weapons to free African-American slaves. Make sure that when you stay in the state, you have the right motor vehicle coverage.
West Virginia: “John Brown’s Body Lays a Molderin in the Grave
On June 20, 1863, the State of West Virginia was added to the Union. Home to great Appalachian music, coal and oil, West Virginia has gained a reputation for rugged hard work. The state song might as well be Loretta Lynn’s: “I am proud to be a coal miner’s daughter.”
The Monongahela National Forest is a popular camping spot. As you drive down I-77 in West Virginia, make sure you have your proof of insurance card ready to show the state troopers.
Minimum West Virginia Insurance Coverage
The West Virginia Department of Motorized Vehicles (WVDMV) requires all drivers to carry car insurance. Here is the minimum coverage for West Virginia:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $25,000 for property damage or destruction
The State of West Virginia also requires you to carry uninsured and underinsured coverage at the aforementioned levels. West Virginia uninsured motorists rank 40th worst in the nation.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
Penalties for Non-Compliance
The “West Virginia Code, Chapter 17D, Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Law” established the penalties for not carrying auto insurance. A first offense could incur a fine between $200 and $5,000, jail time between 15 days and 365 days and license suspension of 30 days. Owners can reduce the time of license suspension by paying a $200 penalty fee, $100 registration fee, $50 license reinstatement fee and $50 fee if police have retrieved the plates.
A second offense (within five years) could lead to a fine between $200 and $5,000, jail time between 15 and 365 days and license suspension of 30 days. A third offense (within five years) could lead to a fine between $200 and $5,000, jail time between 15 and 365 days and license suspension of 30 days.
West Virginia Coal Mines
The State of West Virginia will welcome you as long as you carry the requisite motor vehicle insurance. It is easy, fill out the form above for a free quote.