Everything is “larger than life in Texas.” Home to oil, cattle and cowboys, the State of Texas is proud of its independent spirit. During your sojourn in the state, make sure you carry the proper auto insurance.
Texas: Lone Star State
“Remember the Alamo” was a rallying cry for the Texans who fought for independence against the Mexican General Santa Anna in 1836. The Lone Star State enjoyed its own sovereignty for a short period of time. On December 29, 1845, the State of Texas was added to the Union.
In 1965, one of the first large covered, air-conditioned stadiums was built as the Astrodome. Houston, Texas is the proud home of NASA also. Singer Buddy Holly was born in Lubbock, Texas. So, grab your ten-gallon hats, Texas toast and car insurance if you are driving on I-35 in Texas.
Minimum Texas Insurance Coverage
The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TDMV) requires all drivers to carry motor vehicle insurance. TexasSure is the automated vehicle insurance verification database for checking compliance. Here is the minimum Texas car insurance coverage:
- $30,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $60,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $25,000 for property damage or destruction
You can also post a cash surety bond of $55,000 with the state comptroller or county judge to fulfill this financial duty. Texas uninsured motorists rank 19th worst in the nation.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
Deaf Smith County
El Paso County
Fort Bend County
Jeff Davis County
Jim Hogg County
Jim Wells County
La Salle County
Live Oak County
Palo Pinto County
Red River County
San Augustine County
San Jacinto County
San Patricio County
|San Saba County|
Tom Green County
Val Verde County
Van Zandt County
Penalties for Non-Compliance
The “Texas Statutes, Section 601.231, Suspension of Driver’s License,” established the penalties for not having car insurance. A first offense fine could range from $175 to $350. A second offense could incur a fine between $350 and $1,000, along with license suspension. There is an impoundment fee of $15 per day in the State of Texas.
Deep in the Heart of Texas
If you are deep in the heart of Texas, make the Texas Rangers happy and carry the right amount of car insurance. You can fill out the form above for a free quote.