South Dakota Car Insurance Quotes

The South Dakota Black Hills are one of the most popular tourist destinations for those who love camping. You can check out Mount Rushmore and imagine your own face up on the mountain, along with the American presidents. There are a lot of deer in the area, so you would be well-advised to have car insurance at the state minimum.

South Dakota Motto: “Under God the People Rule”

The Black Hills were revered by Native-American tribes and even had small amounts of gold hidden therein. The Crazy Horse Memorial is still being built to commemorate the famous Native-American chief. Deadwood is another popular tourist site because it was the city where Gunfighter Wild Bill Hickok was shot in 1876.

This Great Plains State received its statehood on November 2, 1889. One of its many thoroughfares is I-385. So, if you are driving in the state, be careful on the rolling hills, look for wildlife and carry the minimum for liability car insurance.

Minimum South Dakota Insurance Coverage

The South Dakota Department of Labor & Regulation Division of Insurance requires you to carry motor vehicle insurance. Here is the minimum for the State of South Dakota:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
  • $25,000 for property damage or destruction

You also must carry uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage in the State of South Dakota. South Dakota uninsured motorists rank 42nd worst in the nation.

Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:

Aurora County
Beadle County
Bennett County
Bon Homme County
Brookings County
Brown County
Brule County
Buffalo County
Butte County
Campbell County
Charles Mix County
Clark County
Clay County
Codington County
Corson County
Custer County
Davison County
Day County
Deuel County
Dewey County
Douglas County
Edmunds County
Fall River County
Faulk County
Grant County
Gregory County
Haakon County
Hamlin County
Hand County
Hanson County
Harding County
Hughes County
Hutchinson County
Hyde County
Jackson County
Jerauld County
Jones County
Kingsbury County
Lake County
Lawrence County
Lincoln County
Lyman County
McCook County
McPherson County
Marshall County
Meade County
Mellette County
Miner County
Minnehaha County
Moody County
Oglala Lakota County
Pennington County
Perkins County
Potter County
Roberts County
Sanborn County
Spink County
Stanley County
Sully County
Todd County
Tripp County
Turner County
Union County
Walworth County
Yankton County
Ziebach County

Penalties for Non-Compliance

The “South Dakota Statutes, 32-35-121. Suspension of License as Penalty” classifies the first offense of not having insurance as a Class 2 Misdemeanor with a fine up to $50, jail time up to 30 days and license suspension from 30 days to 1 year. The reinstatement fee is $50 and proof of future financial responsibility is required.

South Dakota Black Hills

Enjoy the South Dakota Black Hills after purchasing the required levels of motor vehicle insurance. You can fill out the form above for a free quote.