South Carolina Car Insurance Quotes

The State of South Carolina was the first southern state to secede from the Union in December 1860. Its attack on Fort Sumter on April 12, 1861 lead to the creation of the Confederacy. If you are driving in the state, make sure you are carrying car insurance.

South Carolina: Fort Sumter

South Carolina was one of the original thirteen colonies, splitting off from North Carolina in 1729. The beautiful Myrtle Beach is a popular destination for tourists from all around the world. The Gibbles Museum of Art and Audubon Swamp Gardens in South Carolina provide plenty of cultural & educational benefits.

Horse-and-carriage rides are still common fare in Charleston. The Coastal Islands are a great destination for water recreation. I-77 and I-95 are the primary roads, so make sure that you carry the minimum auto insurance while driving through the state.

Minimum South Carolina Insurance Coverage

The South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (SCDMV) requires all motorists to carry the minimum coverage to demonstrate that they can handle any liability arising from accidents. The minimum for insurance coverage in South Carolina is the following:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
  • $25,000 for property damage or destruction

You must also carry uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage in the aforementioned amounts. South Carolina uninsured motorists rank 43rd worst in the nation.

Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:

Abbeville County
Aiken County
Allendale County
Anderson County
Bamberg County
Barnwell County
Beaufort County
Berkeley County
Calhoun County
Charleston County
Cherokee County
Chester County
Chesterfield County
Clarendon County
Colleton County
Darlington County
Dillon County
Dorchester County
Edgefield County
Fairfield County
Florence County
Georgetown County
Greenville County
Greenwood County
Hampton County
Horry County
Jasper County
Kershaw County
Lancaster County
Laurens County
Lee County
Lexington County
McCormick County
Marion County
Marlboro County
Newberry County
Oconee County
Orangeburg County
Pickens County
Richland County
Saluda County
Spartanburg County
Sumter County
Union County
Williamsburg County
York County

Penalties for Non-Compliance

The “South Carolina Statutes Section 56-10-30, Automatic Suspension of Registration upon Lapse or Termination of Security” differentiates between the owner and operator in assessing penalties for not having insurance. The first offense could lead to a fine between $100 and $200 (along with a $5 fine for every day without insurance) jail time of 30 days and license suspension. The reinstatement fee is $200.

The second offense (within ten years) could lead to a fine of $200 (along with a $5 fine for every day without insurance) and jail time for 30 days. The reinstatement fee is $200. The third or any subsequent offense (within ten years) could lead to a $5 fine for every day without insurance, jail time ranging from 45 to 180 days and license suspension. The reinstatement fee is $200.

South Carolina is home to Myrtle Beach

Enjoy Myrtle Beach, Fort Sumter and the other great sites in the State of South Carolina. You can fill out the form above for a free quote.