Liability Auto Insurance for Baltimore Residents

With some of the most detailed auto insurance policy requirements in the city of Baltimore, motorists are legally expected to have several different types of liability coverage.  Protecting you against bodily harm and vehicle damage. liability is necessary to ensure that you are fully covered when operating a vehicle.  Mandatory in Baltimore and the entire state of Maryland, liability insurance coverage is available in different types of specific coverage.  Not only protecting yourself, liability insurance will also protect anyone else that is in your car as well as other drivers on the road.  By possessing the correct type of liability auto coverage, an insurance company is ensuring that they will pay for any injuries and damages that have occurred due to a driving incident.  Because the accident rate and grand theft auto rates are relatively high in the city of Baltimore, the three types of liability insurance that are mandatory include bodily harm, uninsured motorist coverage and property damage.

Types of Liability Insurance

The first form of liability insurance that is required in the city of Baltimore is bodily harm.  This specific type of coverage will protect anyone that is physically hurt due to a car crash or accident.  In order to have a legal driver’s license in Baltimore, the minimum bodily harm coverage that is required is $20,000 per person and $40,000 per one individual accident.  In addition, there needs to be at least $15,000 of coverage for every piece of property that is involved in an accident.  If you are caught driving without the proper bodily harm insurance coverage, you could face up to a year in jail along with a fine of at least $500.

The second type of mandatory liability coverage is uninsured motorists insurance.  This form of coverage will protect you if you are involved in an accident with someone that does not have the proper amount of coverage.  Similar to bodily harm coverage, uninsured motorist insurance has a minimum requirement amount of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.  There needs to be an additional coverage amount of at least $15,000 for the property that is involved in the accident.

The last form of liability insurance that is necessary to legally drive in the state of Maryland is property damage.  Like the name says, this form of coverage will protect you against any damage that has been done due to a traffic accident.  This type of liability insurance will protect you and your vehicle against any damage that happens if you are involved in a car accident.  Somewhat different to the other forms of liability insurance, property damage requires a minimum of $15,000 worth of coverage.  If you do not have the correct amount of property damage coverage, any expense that is accrued due to a car accident will have to be paid out of your own pocket.  Like all forms of liability insurance, if you are caught operating a motor vehicle without being covered, you will be subject to at least a $500 fine and up to one year of prison time.