The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania has the Appalachian Mountains running through its center and Lake Erie in the northwest. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania was the location for the First Continental Congress and “Declaration of Independence.” Pennsylvania requires you to purchase no-fault insurance.
Pennsylvania Motto: “Virtue, Liberty & Independence”
Pennsylvania was one of the thirteen original colonies. Letters from a Farmer in Pennsylvania was an important document encouraging the Founding Fathers to fight for freedom. During the American Civil War, the Battle of Gettysburg was a major turning point.
Pennsylvania is #1 in mushroom production and #2 for apple harvesting in the United States. The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) manages 39,861 miles (64,150 kilometers) of roads and requires all drivers to carry minimum no-fault insurance.
Minimum Pennsylvania Insurance Coverage
The Pennsylvania Department of Motor Vehicles (PDMV) requires all motor vehicle owners to demonstrate financial responsibility by carrying no-fault vehicle liability insurance. Here are the Pennsylvania car insurance minimums:
- $15,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $30,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $5,000 for property damage or destruction
Uninsured motorist coverage at the aforementioned levels is also required. Pennsylvania uninsured motorists rank 46th worst in the nation.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
Penalties for Non-Compliance
The “Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes (PCA) Section 1786, Required Financial Responsibility” has established that the first offense could lead to a fine of $300 and 3 month license suspension. There is a $50 to $88 reinstatement fee after you have purchased auto insurance. If the owner can prove that the insurance coverage lapse was less than 31 days and he did not operate the vehicle during that time, he might receive some relief.
The registration plate, sticker and driver’s license should all be surrendered to PennDOT. The State of Pennsylvania also offers the civil penalty option of paying a $500 fee and the restoration fee of $88 with submission of the Form MV-222. You can only use the civil penalty option once every twelve months.
Pennsylvania: No Fault State
Enjoy some apples in the Quaker State by carrying the proper levels of no-fault insurance. You can fill out the form above for a free quote.