Oregon Car Insurance Quotes

The State of Oregon is rich with wildlife and the following vegetation: Douglas fir, juniper, Ponderosa pine, redwood, cedar, hemlock and ferns. It also has Crater Lake National Park, which is the deepest lake in the country at 1,943 feet (592 meters). The State of Oregon offers a hybrid fault and no-fault insurance system.

Oregon Trail

The state’s name is derived from the French word ouragan meaning “hurricane” due to the strong Chinook winds across the Great Plains. The Lewis and Clark expedition traveled through northern Oregon in 1805. In 1811, New York Businessman John Jacob Astor paid for the building of Fort Astoria to serve as the headquarters for his Pacific Fur Company. He also founded Astoria, Oregon at the mouth of the Columbia River.

After 1842, the 2,000 mile (3,200 kilometer) Oregon Trail was a primary route for Americans traveling West. On February 14, 1859, Oregon officially become part of the Union. If you want to enjoy the roads of this state, make sure to carry the required levels of insurance.

Minimum Oregon Insurance Coverage

The State of Oregon is a “Mixed Fault & No-Fault State.” Individuals are free to file a lawsuit to determine the guilty party of an accident, while filing claims with their own insurance companies via no-fault personal injury protection (PIP) insurance. Here are the Oregon minimums for insurance:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
  • $10,000 for property damage or destruction

Uninsured and under injured motorist policies at the aforementioned levels are also required. PIP insurance is mandated at the level of $15,000 to cover medical costs. Oregon uninsured motorists rank 36th worst in the nation.

Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:

Baker County
Benton County
Clackamas County
Clatsop County
Columbia County
Coos County
Crook County
Curry County
Deschutes County
Douglas County
Gilliam County
Grant County
Harney County
Hood River County
Jackson County
Jefferson County
Josephine County
Klamath County
Lake County
Lane County
Lincoln County
Linn County
Malheur County
Marion County
Morrow County
Multnomah County
Polk County
Sherman County
Tillamook County
Umatilla County
Union County
Wallowa County
Wasco County
Washington County
Wheeler County
Yamhill County

Penalties for Non-Compliance

The “Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 806.010, Driving Uninsured Prohibited” has established that a first offense could lead to a fine between $130 and $1,000. The Oregon courts might allow you to mail a cheque for $260 and avoid a court appearance.

Oregon is Mixed Fault & No-Fault State

Follow the Oregon Trail to this northwestern state, but make sure you have car insurance with you. Simply fill out the form above for a free quote.