Oklahoma Car Insurance Quotes

The State of Oklahoma is part of the Lower Great Plains and has been known for its oil, cattle drives and 1889 Land Rush, which created the “Sooners” nickname. Areas such as the Ouachita National Forest include American bison, mountain lions, bobcats, elk, bald eagles, badgers, armadillo, otters and red foxes. Make sure to buy the compulsory insurance coverage before you drive in the state.

Oklahoma Motto: “Land of the Red Man”

The word Oklahoma means land of the red man in the Choctaw language. “Oklahoma Sooners” refers to the “Land Rush of 1889” when 50,000 people lined up at the border to claim up to two million acres of land. Settlers could claim up to 160 acres of land, which had previously belonged to the Native-Americans.

Energy, telecommunications and biotechnology are important industries in the state. The primary Oklahoma highways are I-35, I-40 and I-45; make sure to carry the compulsory motor vehicle policy when driving in the state.

Minimum Oklahoma Insurance Coverage

The Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (ODPS) has created the Oklahoma Compulsory Insurance Verification System (OCIVS) “Oklahoma Statutes 47, Section 7-600.2” for enforcement of the compulsory liability insurance law. Insurance companies must send their customer information to the OCIVS. Here are the Oklahoma minimum insurance coverage levels:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
  • $25,000 for property damage or destruction

Oklahoma uninsured motorists rank as the worst in the nation.

Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:

Adair County
Alfalfa County
Atoka County
Beaver County
Beckham County
Blaine County
Bryan County
Caddo County
Canadian County
Carter County
Cherokee County
Choctaw County
Cimarron County
Cleveland County
Coal County
Comanche County
Cotton County
Craig County
Creek County
Custer County
Delaware County
Dewey County
Ellis County
Garfield County
Garvin County
Grady County
Grant County
Greer County
Harmon County
Harper County
Haskell County
Hughes County
Jackson County
Jefferson County
Johnston County
Kay County
Kingfisher County
Kiowa County
Latimer County
Le Flore County
Lincoln County
Logan County
Love County
McClain County
McCurtain County
McIntosh County
Major County
Marshall County
Mayes County
Murray County
Muskogee County
Noble County
Nowata County
Okfuskee County
Oklahoma County
Okmulgee County
Osage County
Ottawa County
Pawnee County
Payne County
Pittsburg County
Pontotoc County
Pottawatomie County
Pushmataha County
Roger Mills County
Rogers County
Seminole County
Sequoyah County
Stephens County
Texas County
Tillman County
Tulsa County
Wagoner County
Washington County
Washita County
Woods County
Woodward County

Penalties for Non-Compliance

“Oklahoma Statutes Section 47-7-606, Failure to Maintain Insurance or Security – Penalties” established guidelines for courts. The first offense for not carrying car insurance could lead to a fine of not more than $250.00, jail time of not more than 30 days and license suspension. Reinstatement fees of $275 are required.

The State of Oklahoma has authorized police officers to seize uninsured license plates and assign temporary insurance, in lieu of towing.

Oklahoma Sooners

While the best land might have been taken back in 1889, the State of Oklahoma still has a lot to offer. Just fill out the form above for a free quote.