The State of Ohio might by home to more mid-sized towns than any other state in the Union: Columbus, Cleveland, Cincinnati, Toledo, Akron and Dayton, to name a few. The “Buckeye State” has become an important industrial giant with its location on Lake Erie. If you plan on driving in the state, make sure to demonstrate your “financial responsibility,” which could include car insurance.
Ohio Motto: “With God All Things Are Possible”
On February 19, 1803, the State of Ohio received its boundaries, constitution and was unofficially added to the Union. Ohio industrial products include plastics, rubber, metals and appliances.
One of the earliest interstate roads was the Ohio “Main Market Route 3,” (Lincoln Highway), which is the present-day US Route 30. Ohio is within a “one-day drive of half of North America’s population,” so make sure that you have the required financial responsibility when you drive in the state.
Minimum Ohio Insurance Coverage
Ohio drivers must maintain financial responsibility in the form of a bond or auto insurance. When you satisfy this requirement, a certificate of financial responsibility will be issued by the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (OBMV). Ohio minimum insurance coverage levels are as follows:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $25,000 for property damage or destruction
The other option for demonstrating financial responsibility in the State of Ohio is to post a government bond of $30,000 with the Office of the Treasurer. The Ohio Department of Insurance (ODOI) expects you to show your insurance card to law enforcement, if you are pulled over. Ohio uninsured motorists rank 17th worst in the nation.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
Van Wert County
Penalties for Non-Compliance
“Ohio Statutes 4509.101, Operating of Motor Vehicle Without Proof of Financial
Responsibility” established penalties. The first offense for not having car insurance could lead to a license suspension. There is a reinstatement fee of $100, compliance fee of less than $50 and registrar service fee of $10.
The second offense (within five years of a previous offense) could lead to a license suspension for a year. The court has the freedom to permit the motorist to drive after 15 days of the suspension. There is a reinstatement fee of $300, compliance fee of less than $50 and registrar service fee of $10.
The third offense (within five years of a previous offense) could lead to a license suspension for two years. The court has the freedom to allow the motorist to drive after 30 days of the suspension. There is a reinstatement fee of $600, compliance fee of less than $50 and registrar service fee of $10.
Ohio: “Buckeye State”
So, if you are fond of Buckeyes, then make sure you carry the proper car insurance in the State of Buckeyes. You can fill out the form above for a free quote.