The State of North Dakota was home to Sioux, Mandan, Yanktonai and Meti Native-American tribes, who would cooperate during annual bison hunts. The state is known for wide open spaces, energy resources and agriculture. Drivers in this no-fault state are required to carry automobile insurance.
ND Motto: “Liberty & Union, Now & Forever, One & Inseparable”
On November 2, 1889, the State of North Dakota was added to the Union. The Northern Great Plains lack trees, which can lead to high winds. Fortunately, the rich fertile soil left from the glacial Lake Agassiz has made it easy to grow barley, wheat and corn; North Dakota produces 94% of American flax seed and 92% of American canola.
The “Flickertail State” includes Theodore Roosevelt National Park and White Butte in the popular Badlands tourist area. If you want to drive the main Dakota thoroughfares of I-29 or I-94, make sure you carry auto insurance.
Minimum North Dakota Insurance Coverage
The North Dakota Insurance Department (NDINS) requires residents to purchase a policy covering their motor vehicles. North Dakota minimums for insurance coverage are as follows:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $25,000 for property damage or destruction
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage at the aforementioned liability rates is required in the state. Plus, the basic no-fault personal injury protection (PIP) policy covering $30,000 worth of medical expenses and work loss is required. North Dakota uninsured motorists rank 47th worst in the nation.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
Golden Valley County
Grand Forks County
Penalties for Non-Compliance
The “North Dakota Century Code (NDCenCode) 39-08-20, Driving Without Liability Insurance Prohibited” directed that the first offense could be classified as a Class B Misdemeanor, punishable by a fine ranging from $150 to $1,000 and license suspension. The second offense (within one year of previous conviction) could lead to a fine ranging from $300 to $5,000, license suspension and/or jail time for 30 days.
North Dakota is No Fault State
Be prepared for the high winds on the open plains of North Dakota and get the right car insurance. Simply, fill out the form above for a free quote.