The State of North Carolina has a strategic coastline position that gives it a commanding presence over Atlantic Ocean trade. The North Carolina “Tar Heels” have also created the powerful “Tobacco Row” in the state. Motor vehicles registered and licensed in the state must carry insurance.
North Carolina: “First in Flight”
Cape Hatteras is known as the “Graveyard of the Atlantic” with more than 1,000 ships having been sunk since 1526. Sir Walter Raleigh tried to establish two colonies in the area in the late 1580s, including the “Lost Roanoke Colony.” North Carolina was one of the original thirteen colonies.
On December 17, 1903, the Wright Brothers made the first airplane flight at Kitty Hawk, North Carolina. Albemarle Sound and Pamlico Sound are two of the largest landlocked sounds in the United States. Tobacco, soybeans, melons and cotton are important crops. If you want to drive on the second-largest state highway in the country (North Carolina), then make sure you have the requisite levels of insurance.
Minimum North Carolina Insurance Coverage
The State of North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (NCDMV) requires registered owners of licensed motor vehicles to carry a minimum of liability insurance. The insurance company must be licensed and authorized to do business in the state. Here is the minimum for North Carolina car insurance:
- $30,000 for bodily injury or death for one person
- $60,000 for bodily injury or death for several people
- $25,000 for property damage or destruction
License plates should be surrendered when insurance is discontinued. North Carolina uninsured motorists rank 35th worst in the nation.
Penalties for Non-Compliance
“North Carolina General Statutes Article 13, Sub-Section 20-311, Penalties for Lapse of Financial Responsibility” established that the first offense could lead to a $50 fine as a Class 1 Misdemeanor, probation for less than 45 days and registration suspension for 30 days. The restoration fee is $50.
Second offense (within three years) could lead to a $100 fine as a Class 1 Misdemeanor, jail time of less than 45 days and registration suspension for 30 days. The restoration fee is $50. Third offense (within three years) could lead to a $150 fine as a Class 1 Misdemeanor, jail time of less than 45 days and registration suspension for 30 days. North Carolina might also assess civil penalties for lapses of auto insurance:
- First is $50 fine
- Second is $100 fine
- More than two is $150 fine
North Carolina Tar Heels
Fans of transportation appreciate the revolutionary flight at Kitty Hawk and carry the required minimum for auto insurance. Customers can fill out the form above for a free quote.