New York State is blessed with a great location, plenty of water causeways and natural vegetation. New York City is one of the most important global banking centers in the world. When driving in the state, make sure you have the compulsory motor vehicle coverage.
New York Motto: “Ever Forward”
One of the original thirteen colonies, New York has been the engine for growth of the nation. New York City was once the home to the nation’s capitol and still has world-famous sites, such as Times Square, Central Park, Empire State Building and the Statue of Liberty. The Federalist Papers were published in New York newspapers to encourage adoption of the United States Constitution.
Many immigrants have arrived in the country through Ellis Island. New York’s Adirondack Park is actually larger than the entire State of Vermont. The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (NYSDMV) had 11,284,546 drivers licenses on file in 2008 and requires you to carry the minimum for motor vehicle insurance.
Minimum New York Insurance Coverage
New York Department of Motor Vehicles (NYDMV) requires motor vehicle coverage if you plan on driving on a public road. The insurance coverage must be from a company within New York, licensed by the New York State Department of Financial Services (NYDFS). Here is the minimum for New York car insurance:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death for one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death for several people
- $10,000 for property damage or destruction
New York uninsured motorists rank 49th worst in the nation.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
New York County
St. Lawrence County
Penalties for Non-Compliance
“New York State Statutes Title 3 Article 6, Subsection 319, Penalties” established levels for fines, jail time, suspension and civil penalty for invalid proof of insurance. The first offense could lead to a traffic court fine of between $150 and $1,500, jail time of less than 15 days and license suspension for one year. There is a $750 fee for reinstatement.
The State of New York DMV has established a civil penalty system allowing you to pay a fee in order to continue driving. This civil penalty system is based on how long your insurance is lapsed:
- Under 30 days is payment of $8 per day
- Between 31 and 60 days is payment of $10 per day
- Between 61 and 90 days is payment of $12 per day
Individuals can only use this civil penalty option once every 36 months.
New York: “Empire State”
New York State has great entertainment, plenty of job opportunities and an extensive park system. Buy car insurance to establish legal compliance, fill out the form above for a free quote.