The State of New Mexico was originally inhabited by the Navajo, Pueblo and Apache tribes. Its wild environment remains an untainted treasure full of animals not seen in other parts of the country. When you enjoy the great flora and fauna of New Mexico, make sure that you have the required minimum for auto insurance.
New Mexico Motto: “It Grows As It Goes”
On January 6, 1912, New Mexico became the 47th state. It is home to a number of great tourist destinations, including the Sangre de Cristo Range, Chaco Canyon, White Sands National Monument and Carlsbad Canyons. The first atomic bombs were manufactured at the Los Alamos National Laboratory.
The Great Roadrunner is the state bird of New Mexico. The Black Bear is the state animal of New Mexico. Cougars, black bears, coyotes, jaguars, deer, elk, bighorn sheep, bison and jackrabbits are all found in the area. Vegetation includes Creosote bush, mesquite, cacti, yucca, Ponderosa pine and fir.
The important “Sante Fe Trail” was an important route linking Saint Louis, Missouri, United States to Mexico City, Mexico. It has since been replaced by US Route 24 and US Route 56. There are no more covered wagons, but your covered motor vehicle will require insurance coverage.
Minimum New Mexico Insurance Coverage
The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Department (NMMVD) matches individual auto insurance information using their Validati application and registration. You can check your insurance status on the New Mexico Insurance Identification Database (NMIIDB). New Mexico drivers must maintain a minimum of motor vehicle insurance at the following levels:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death for one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death for two persons
- $10,000 for property damage or destruction
Proof of auto insurance is required when you register your motor vehicle. Individuals should have their insurance company notify the NMIDDB. A “Notice of Noncompliance” sent by the NMMVD could lead to a vehicle registration suspension.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
De Baca County
|Doña Ana County|
Los Alamos County
Rio Arriba County
San Juan County
|San Miguel County|
Santa Fe County
Penalties for Non-Compliance
“New Mexico Statutes Annotated (NMSA), 66-5-205, Vehicle Must Be Insured Or Owner Must Have Evidence of Financial Responsibility” established the penalties for not having auto insurance. The first offense could lead to a fine of not more than $300, jail time of not more than 90 days and registration suspension. The second offense could lead to a court fine of not more than $1,000 and/or jail time not to exceed 6 months.
Make sure to carry your auto insurance card with you. New Mexico uninsured motorists rank 4th worst in the nation.
New Mexico Nickname: “Land of Enchantment”
If you need a little enchantment, then check out New Mexico and make sure to carry motor vehicle insurance. It is easy, just fill out the form above for a free quote.