The State of New Hampshire, United States was named after Old Hampshire, England. The two areas share many traits, including ship-building and a city called Portsmouth. If you choose to drive in the New Hampshire state, then make sure you demonstrate your financial responsibility.
New Hampshire Motto: “Live Free or Die!”
Before the Europeans arrived, native Algonquian tribes controlled the New England area. The State of New Hampshire was developed gradually by English fishermen who settled at Odiorne’s Point and Hilton’s Point (modern-day Dover.)
One of the original thirteen colonies, New Hampshire has been at the forefront of many national developments. It was the first state to create a government independent of England in January 1776. It also has the first primary in the United States presidential race. The State of New Hampshire has no general sales tax or personal income tax.
Senator Daniel Webster, Editor Horace Greeley and Astronaut Alan Shepard are famous sons of New Hampshire. Sawmills, shipyards, textiles, shoe making and rubber have been some of the most important products. Agricultural output includes dairy, apples, eggs and cattle.
Popular pastimes include skiing, hiking and mountaineering. Important highways for the state include I-89, I-93 and I-95, along with U.S. Routes 1, 2, 3 and 4. The “Granite State” requires drivers to prove they are “financially responsible,” which could be demonstrated by purchasing car insurance.
Minimum New Hampshire Insurance Coverage
The New Hampshire Department of Safety Division of Motor Vehicles wants you to demonstrate that you are financial responsible should liability arise after a car accident. You can prove this in many ways, including car insurance. If you choose to purchase car insurance, then you must find a policy with the following minimums:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death for one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death for two people
- $25,000 for property damage or destruction
“New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated, NH RSA 264:16” established that if you choose the insurance route, you must also purchase uninsured motorist and medical payments coverage of at least $1,000. New Hampshire uninsured motorists rank 34th worst in the nation.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
Penalties for Non-Compliance
You could receive a license suspension if you fail to demonstrate financial responsibility.
New Hampshire: “Granite State”
Trend setters might appreciate the independent thinking of New Hampshire residents. If you choose to demonstrate your financial responsibility with car insurance, then fill out the form above for a free quote.