The State of Nevada (containing portions of the Mojave Desert) is the driest state in the nation with an average annual rainfall of 7 inches (18 centimeters). Thanks to gold and silver mining, the Carson City Mint become an important source for American coinage from 1863 to 1893. The State of Nevada will penalize you if you don’t have auto insurance – based on how long you allow this coverage to lapse.
Nevada Motto: “All for Our Country”
On October 31, 1864, Nevada was added to the Union. Nevada supposedly means snow covered, in Spanish. Mining ranching, tourism, machinery and printing are the primary sources of revenue for the state.
The “Welcome to Fabulous Las Vegas Nevada” sign invites you to one of the top entertainment destinations in the world. The Las Vegas strip (in Clark County) has astounding entertainment, casinos, fountains and replicas of famous world landmarks. In 2014, Clark County attracted 44 million visitors.
Lake Tahoe is another popular recreational destination in the state. In the 1950s, nuclear bomb testing was conducted at Frenchman Flat. If you are interested in driving on the “Loneliest Road in America,” U.S. Route 50, then make sure you carry the required Nevada motor vehicle insurance.
Minimum Nevada Insurance Coverage
The State of Nevada penalty system for not having car insurance is based on the number of offenses and how long the insurance remains lapsed thereafter. Here is the minimum for Nevada car insurance:
- $15,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $30,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $10,000 for property damage or destruction
Nevada uninsured motorists rank 23rd worst in the nation.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
White Pine County
Consolidated Municipality of Carson City
Penalties for Non-Compliance
The “Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 482.557 Failure to Provide Insurance” established the tiers for penalizing the length of insurance lapses. The first offense could lead to a financial penalty ranging from $250 to $1,000 and license suspension. The penalty amount varies based on how long the insurance was lapsed. Violators must file the SR-22 form and pay a $251 fee for reinstatement.
If you incur a second offense (within five years), then your penalty might be a fine between $500 and $1,000 and license suspension. Violators must file the SR-22 form for reinstatement while paying a fee of $501. The third offense (within five years), could lead to a fine between $500 and $1,000 and license suspension. Violators must file the SR-22 form for reinstatement while paying a fee of $751.
Nevada: Sagebrush State
Enjoy the amazing entertainment found in the State of Nevada, by purchasing the required amounts of car insurance. Simply fill out the form above for a free quote.