The State of Missouri has been at the crossroads of America for centuries. In 1819, the “Missouri Compromise” prohibited slavery above the northern border of the state. All motorists in the crossroads of America must carry auto insurance.
Missouri Motto: “Let the welfare of the people be the supreme law.”
Missouri was added to the union on August 10, 1821. The Saint Louis arches commemorate the area as the starting point for the Pony Express, Santa Fe Trail and Oregon Trail. Some of the “Show Me State’s” primary products are corn, cotton and cattle; Kansas City barbecue is world-famous.
Missouri’s state highway road system was actually used as a blueprint for the entire U.S. Highway System in 1926. When you are on the Missouri crossroads, make sure to carry the required minimums for auto insurance.
Get an Insurance Quote for your Specific County
Cape Girardeau County
New Madrid County
St. Charles County
|St. Clair County|
Ste. Genevieve County
St. Francois County
St. Louis County
Minimum Missouri Insurance Coverage
The Missouri Department of Revenue (MDR) requires car owners to carry proof of insurance in their vehicles at all times. Law enforcement can issue you a ticket for not having the required proof of insurance. Here is the minimum for Missouri automobile coverage:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $10,000 for property damage or destruction
Uninsured bodily injury (BI) motorist insurance is also required in the State of Missouri with coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Penalties for Non-Compliance
The “Missouri Revised Statutes, Section 303.160” established the range of court penalties for not carrying your insurance card. The first conviction could lead to a fine of less than $300 and license suspension. In the State of Missouri, the license suspension applies to all vehicles owned by the guilty party. There is a $20 reinstatement fee.
The second offense (within two years) could lead to a fine of less than $300, jail time of less than 15 days and license suspension for 90 days. There is a $200 reinstatement fee. The third offense could lead to a fine of less than $300, jail time of less than 15 days and license suspension for 1 year. There is a $400 reinstatement fee.
Conviction records are sent to the Missouri Driver License Bureau. The court can enter an “Order of Supervision” to have the guilty driver monitored. Missouri uninsured motorists rank 18th worst in the nation.
Missouri: Show Me State
The police in the “Show Me State” may ask you to “Show” them your insurance. Fill out the form above for a free quote.