The State of Mississippi consists primarily of lowlands and foothills with rich fertile soil from the silt of the river. In fact, Mississippi-grown catfish are very popular in United States grocery stores. While driving in the state, make sure to carry proof of insurance, either in a paper or electronic format.
Mississippi Delta Catfish
On December 10, 1817, Mississippi was added as the 20th state. Cotton and catfish have been the two primary products of the State of Mississippi. Cotton is King! was a rallying cry for the state’s development in the 1800s.
The “Magnolia State” has even created the third-largest entertainment and gaming area in the United States on its Tunica, Mississippi riverboats. Drivers on any of the I-10, I-20, I-22, I-55, I-59 or I-69 highways must carry the minimum levels for car insurance.
Minimum Mississippi Insurance Coverage
The owner of a motor vehicle in Mississippi must show proof of liability insurance. The Mississippi Insurance Department established a compulsory automobile liability insurance system requiring motorists to carry an insurance card in their vehicles at all times. Here is the minimum for Mississippi automobile insurance coverage:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $25,000 for property damage or destruction
The State of Mississippi is ahead of other states technologically and will accept an insurance version that is either in paper or electronic format (stored on your cell phone). The Mississippi Department of Public Safety – Safety Responsibility Division enforces the state insurance law.
Individuals can also post a bond or make a security deposit equal to the minimum requirements demonstrating their financial responsibility. While a law enforcement officer cannot stop you solely to check your insurance, he can “ask you for a proof of insurance during a stop for any other statutory violation.”
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
Jefferson Davis County
Pearl River County
Penalties for Non-Compliance
“Mississippi Statutes Section 63-15-4 Insurance Card” stipulates that the driver who does not carry required insurance levels will be fined between $500 and $1,000, which might be reduced to $100 if the violator shows he has coverage by the time of the hearing. There also might be a one year license suspension. Mississippi uninsured motorists rank 3rd worst in the nation.
Mississippi: Magnolia State
Whether for catfish, magnolia or another reason, you might want to spend some quality time in the State of