The State of Minnesota is one of the northernmost states with rich wilderness replete with pine trees, deer and more than 10,000 lakes. Minnesota’s Itasca State Park is also the source of the mighty Mississippi River. When you drive in Minnesota, make sure you carry the minimum for no-fault insurance coverage.
Minnesota Nickname: “Land of 10,000 Lakes”
Minnesota means blue water in Dakota. The “Star of the North” is home to black bear, moose, geese, pheasants, ducks, eagles, walleye, bass and gophers. Apples, raspberries, tomatoes, onion, milk and corn are its primary crops.
On May 11, 1858, the State of Minnesota became the 32nd state of the Union. The “Gopher State” is on Lake Superior and shares the Boundary Waters Canoe Area with Canada. I-94 (oblong around the Twin Cities) and I-35 (north-south) are the primary arteries for the state. Make sure you have the mandatory minimums for no-fault coverage while in Minnesota.
Minimum Minnesota Insurance Coverage
The Minnesota Department of Motor Vehicles (MDMV) requires that owners of “cars driven and primarily used in Minnesota” carry liability, no-fault (personal injury protection) and uninsured motorist insurance. Here is the minimum for Minnesota no-fault automobile coverage:
- $30,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $60,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $10,000 for property damage or destruction
The personal injury protection (PIP) minimums are $20,000 for medical coverage and $20,000 for loss of income.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
Big Stone County
Blue Earth County
|Crow Wing County|
Lac qui Parle County
Lake of the Woods County
Le Sueur County
Mille Lacs County
Otter Tail County
Red Lake County
|St. Louis County|
Yellow Medicine County
Penalties for Non-Compliance
“Minnesota Statutes 169.792 Revocation of License for Failure to Produce Proof” outlines the different penalties assessed for violators. The penalties for the first and second offense are the same: fines ranging from $200 to $1,000, jail time of not more than 90 days and license suspension. Community service may be substituted in lieu of a fine, if defendant is indigent.
When the violator commits a third offense within ten years of two prior convictions, then the penalty increases to a gross misdemeanor. This gross misdemeanor fine could range from $200 to $3,000, jail time of not more than 1 year and license suspension. Minnesota uninsured motorists rank 28th worst in the nation.
Minnesota Is No-Fault Insurance State
As a no-fault state, you can file a claim directly with your own insurance company. Enjoy the fishing and boating on one of the 10,000 Minnesota lakes. Just fill out the form above for a free quote.