The State of Michigan has a great strategic location on four of the five Great Lakes near the Canadian border. Detroit, Michigan has become the center of the American Automobile Industry thanks to Ransom E. Olds, John Dodge, David Dunbar Buick and Henry Ford. When you drive your foreign or domestic automobile in the State of Michigan, make sure you carry the minimum for no-fault liability insurance.
Michigan Motto: “If you seek a pleasant peninsula, look about you”
In 1701, French Army Officer Antoine de la Mothe Cadillac built an important fort in the area that would become Michigan. On January 26, 1837, the State of Michigan was added to the Union.
The “Wolverine State” has both an Upper Peninsula and Lower Peninsula, along with 64,980 lakes and ponds. Every Michigan citizen is within 6 miles (9.7 kilometers) of a natural water source. Milk, cherries, blueberries, apples, grapes, peaches, corn, soybeans, petunias, wheat and potatoes are the primary crops.
The Motown sound included the Temptations, Diana Ross and the Jackson 5. The I-75 freeway network runs through Detroit, Flint and Saginaw. All Michigan drivers must carry basic no-fault insurance in order to receive their license plates.
Minimum Michigan Insurance Coverage
The Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services (MDIFS) requires no-fault insurance coverage. Michigan uninsured motorists rank 5th worst in the nation. Here is the minimum for Michigan no-fault automobile coverage:
- $20,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $40,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $10,000 for property damage or destruction
Michigan no-fault personal injury protection (PIP) coverage pays for medical, rehabilitation costs and wage loss benefits up to three years and $20 per day for replacement services, such as housekeeping, painting and yard work. Property protection insurance (PPI) covers up to $1 million of damage to other people’s signs, fences, buildings and parked cars.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
Grand Traverse County
Presque Isle County
St. Clair County
St. Joseph County
Van Buren County
Penalties for Non-Compliance
The “Michigan Vehicle Code, Section 257.328(4) and Insurance Code of 1956 Sec. 3102(2)” establish the penalties for not carrying auto insurance. “No Proof of Insurance” can lead to a fine between $200 and $500, jail time of less than a year and license suspension. All offenses receive the same penalty range. There is a $25 service fee for reinstatement of license.
Michigan Is No-Fault Insurance State
Enjoy your time in the state of the American automobile. Get insurance, simply fill out the form above for a free quote.