The Commonwealth of Massachusetts has been a central bastion of liberty throughout its illustrious history. The Boston Massacre, Boston Tea Party and Concord & Lexington battles laid the framework for the American Revolution of 1776. The Commonwealth of Massachusetts is a no-fault insurance state requiring you to carry a minimum level of auto coverage.
Motto: “By the sword we seek peace, but peace only under liberty
The Algonquian natives met the Puritans arriving at Plymouth in 1620, which created the mythology behind the Thanksgiving holiday. As a “hotbed of revolution,” native Massachusetts sons, Samuel Adams, John Hancock and John Adams, lead the charge for freedom. Years later, abolitionists, such as John Brown, Sojourner Truth and Frederick Douglass called Massachusetts, their home.
The Boston fishing industry has been blessed with abundant Atlantic cod, haddock and lobster. Early on, the Springfield armory was integral to the nation’s defense. The top state industries are biotechnology, information technology, finance, higher education and trade.
The oldest institution of higher learning in the United States is located at Cambridge, Massachusetts: Harvard University. Boston Clam Chowder, Boston Baked Beans and the Boston Celtics are household names. The Route 128 corridor is the primary transportation network through Boston’s high tech areas and transit thereon requires all to carry the minimum for auto insurance.
Minimum Massachusetts Insurance Coverage
The Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation (MOCABR) ensures that insurance companies provide the necessary coverage for citizens. Here is the minimum for Massachusetts automobile coverage:
- $20,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $40,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $5,000 for property damage or destruction
Residents must also carry personal injury protection (PIP) of $8,000 per person and uninsured and underinsured auto coverage at the same bodily injury amounts. The car registration acts as your proof of insurance. Massachusetts uninsured motorists rank 51st worst in the nation.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
|Town and County of Nantucket|
Penalties for Non-Compliance
“Massachusetts Laws Part I, Title XIV, Chapter 90, Section 34J” provides the penalties for not having auto insurance. The first offense could lead to a fine between $500 and $1,000, jail time of 1 year and/or license suspension of 60 days. The second offense (within 6 years) could lead to a fine of between $500 and $5,500, jail time of 1 year and/or license suspension of 1 year.
Massachusetts Is No-Fault Insurance State
Massachusetts has a myriad of social and business opportunities. So, if you need to drive around the state; get coverage, just fill out the form above for a free quote.