The State of Maryland developed on either side of the “Chesapeake Estuary.” Interestingly enough, Maryland has no natural lakes because it did not have any glacier activity. If you are cruising along the Maryland highways, make sure you carry the minimum for mandatory car insurance.
Maryland: “Old Line State”
One of the original thirteen colonies, the State of Maryland has been very proud of its tolerance of different Christian denominations. The Mason-Dixon line establishes the northern border of the state. In 2015, the Port of Baltimore, Maryland had total international cargo totaling 32.4 million tons.
The State of Maryland flora includes oak, pine, seagrass, reeds and the state flower – the Black-Eyed Susan. The fauna consists of black bears, deer, bobcats, foxes, coyote and otters. There are even rare wild horses on Assateague Island.
The state insect is the Baltimore Checkerspot Butterfly. The Maryland Department of Transportation oversees the numerous highways, including I-68, I-70, I-81, I-83, I-95, I-97, I-270, I-495, I-595 and I-695. Make sure to carry the mandatory car insurance coverage if you are in the State of Maryland.
Minimum Maryland Insurance Coverage
The Maryland Vehicle Administration (MVA) requires all residents to carry insurance issued by a local licensed firm. Maryland insurance companies will issue Maryland Form FR-19 as “Proof of Vehicle Insurance.” Here are the minimum requirements for Maryland auto insurance:
- $30,000 for bodily injury or death for one person
- $60,000 for bodily injury or death for two people
- $15,000 for property damage or destruction
Maryland uninsured motorists rank 22nd worst in the nation.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
Anne Arundel County
|Prince George's County|
Queen Anne's County
St. Mary's County
Penalties for Non-Compliance
The “Maryland Transportation Code Annotated Section 17-106” penalty is based on the time it takes for the violator to purchase the proper car insurance. Individuals without car insurance may be fined $150 for the first 30 days. If the violator still does not have the required auto insurance, then $7 per day is assessed for each day thereafter, up to a maximum fine of $2,500. Your registration might be suspended and your vehicle might be impounded; the vehicle registration restoration fee is around $25.
The MVA will send insurance notifications to any violators. If you fail to respond to these notifications, your case will be sent to the Maryland Central Collections Unit (CCU). The CCU will assess a 17% collection fee and might intercept your income tax return.
Maryland State Flower: Black-Eyed Susan
Pick some Black-Eyed Susans during your stay in Maryland. Follow the mandatory insurance law and fill out the form above for a free quote.