The State of Louisiana has a rich culture based on the French system of laws. The Cajuns have created great craw fish, lobster and shrimp dishes, especially for Mardis Gras. The State of Louisiana requires a minimum level of vehicle insurance for all drivers.
Louisiana Motto: “Union, Justice, Confidence”
The French navigated the Mississippi River and claimed both sides. The Louisiana Purchase netted the United States 828,000 square miles for $15 million. As the delta of the Mississippi River, Louisiana has a rich environment of wetlands, swamps and bayous.
Lake Pontchartrain might be one of the reasons for the state’s nickname as the “Pelican State.” You can also find tree frogs, sturgeon, ibis and egrets here. In 2014, the New Orleans port accounted for some 31,050,437 short tons of cargo. The I-10 system is the primary highway system for the State of Louisiana and transit thereon will require “evidence of compulsory motor vehicle liability security contained in vehicle with the provisions thereof registered in Louisiana.”
Minimum Louisiana Insurance Coverage
The Louisiana Department of Insurance (LDOI) reviews, approves and enforces insurance rules and regulations. The State of Louisiana requires “financial security with the provisions registered in Louisiana.” Here are the Louisiana minimums for vehicle insurance:
- $15,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $30,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $25,000 for property damage or destruction
Louisiana uninsured motorists rank 16th worst in the nation.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
De Soto Parish
|East Baton Rouge Parish|
East Carroll Parish
East Feliciana Parish
Jefferson Davis Parish
Pointe Coupee Parish
Red River Parish
St. Bernard Parish
St. Charles Parish
St. Helena Parish
St. James Parish
St. John the Baptist Parish
|St. Landry Parish|
St. Martin Parish
St. Mary Parish
St. Tammany Parish
West Baton Rouge Parish
West Carroll Parish
West Feliciana Parish
Penalties for Non-Compliance
“Louisiana Revised Statutes (LRS) Section 32, Subsection 865, Criminal sanctions for operating motor vehicle not covered by security” ascribes fines and registration suspension as penalties for not carrying insurance. The first violation could lead to a fine of not more than $500, registration suspension and revocation of plates (impounding). Violators must pay $50 reinstatement and $10 impounding release fees (storage and wreckage fees might also be assessed).
The second violation could lead to a fine of not more than $500, registration suspension and revocation of plates. Violators must pay $150 reinstatement and $10 impounding release fees. The third violation could result in a fine of not more than $500, registration suspension and revocation of plates. Violators must pay $500 reinstatement and $10 impounding release fees.
The bayou is calling! Get your mandatory car insurance to enjoy the State of Louisiana without any hassles. You can fill out the form above for a free quote.