The State of Kansas is in the Great Plains and home to many windy days. In fact, the word Kansas means “people of the wind.” Kansas is a no-fault auto insurance state.
Kansas Motto: “To the Stars through Difficulties”
Nicknamed the “Sunflower State” or “Wheat State,” Kansas was once the home of hundreds of herds of buffalo. Kansas was an important state in 1854 when it entered the union as a “free state” with Missouri entering as a “slave state.” Violence before the Civil War lead to the term “Bleeding Kansas.”
The 1954 “Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, Kansas” decision was also a landmark United Supreme Court case for desegregating American schools. The first Interstate I-70 was opened in Topeka, Kansas on November 14, 1956. Kansas requires a minimum of personal injury and property damage liability insurance.
Minimum Kansas Insurance Coverage
The Kansas Insurance Department requires that you carry a minimum of personal liability and property damage car insurance. Here are the minimums required for Kansas vehicle insurance:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $10,000 for property damage or destruction
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
Lincoln Countyv Linn County
Penalties for Non-Compliance
Under “Kansas Statutes 40-3104, Motor vehicle liability insurance coverage required” the penalties for driving without insurance could include fines, license suspension and possibly jail time. The first offense fine could range from $300 to $1,000, confinement in the county jail for not more than six months and license suspension. The registration reinstatement fee shall be $100.
Subsequent violations (within three years) could lead to a fine between $800 and $2,500, license suspension and possibly jail time. The registration reinstatement fee increases to $300. The third violation (within five years) could lead to the State of Kansas labeling the individual as a “habitual offender.” This could lead to the revocation of the person’s driving privileges for three years. Kansas uninsured motorists are 33rd worst in the nation.
Kansas is No Fault Insurance State
The State of Kansas personal injury protection (PIP) or no fault insurance must cover $4,500 per person for medical, $900 per month for loss of income, $25 per day for in-home services, $2,000 for burial and $4,500 for rehabilitation. There are also survivor benefits. This no fault coverage allows you to file a claim directly with your own insurance company in order to get paid more quickly.
Kansas Blowin in the Wind
If you are “Blowing Into Kansas,” you should probably carry liability auto insurance. Simply fill out the “RideCoverage.com” form above for a free quote.