Indiana might be best known for the Indianapolis 500, which was inaugurated on May 30, 1911. The “Hoosier State” has a reputation for rugged blue collar workers and hard working farmers. The State of Indiana requires you to carry minimum levels of car insurance.
Indiana: “Gentlemen, Start Your Engines!”
The “Hoosier State” is actually the source of the famous presidential campaign slogan: “Tippecanoe and Tyler too!” On December 11, 1816, Indiana became the 19th state and the capital moved from Corydon to Indianapolis. Major rivers in the state include the Whitewater, Blue, Wabash and Saint Joseph. The State of Indiana is well-positioned at the juncture of the Corn Belt and Rust Belt.
Important Indiana food crops include milk, eggs, corn and soybeans. Indiana’s 1816 constitution was the first in the nation to establish a state-funded public school system. You will need to maintain proper car insurance if you drive on any of the large Indiana interstates: I-265, I-275, I-465, I-469 or I-865.
Minimum Indiana Insurance Coverage
The Indiana Department of Insurance (IDOI) oversees the insurance company rates and makes them open for public inspection. The IDOI requires drivers to carry a “Certificate of Compliance.” Here is the required minimum for Indiana vehicle insurance:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $10,000 for property damage or destruction
You must reject uninsured and under insured motorists coverage in writing. The State of Indiana even has its own Auto Insurance Plan, if you fail to find an adequate private plan. Indiana uninsured motorists ranked 14th worst in the nation.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
St. Joseph County
Penalties for Non-Compliance
The “Indiana Code, IC 9-25-8 Penalties and IC 9-25-6 Suspension of Driving Privileges and Vehicle” establishes the penalties for not having car insurance. The penalty for the first offense is a license suspension ranging from 90 days to 1 year. The reinstatement fee is $150. Subsequent offenses (within 5 years) could lead to a license suspension of 1 year. The reinstatement fee is $225.
The Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (IBMV) requires you to show Proof of Future Insurance if you are found operating a vehicle without insurance. This financial responsibility penalty lasts for three years from the date of the initial license suspension.
Racing fans can enjoy the State of Indiana when they carry the required car insurance. You can fill out the form above for a free quote.