The State of Illinois is smack dab in the middle of the Midwest United States making it an important crossroads for the nation. In fact, Chicago O’Hare was the busiest airport in the world based on takeoffs and landings in 2014. If you plan on staying in the State of Illinois, make sure to adhere to its mandatory vehicle insurance law.
Illinois Motto: State Sovereignty & National Union
The “Prairie State” was established as the 21st member of the Union in 1818. The original capital was at Kaskaskia. In the American Civil War, Illinois ranked 4th in terms of men serving behind New York, Pennsylvania and Ohio. The “Land of Lincoln” (Lincoln was actually born in Hodgenville, Kentucky) proudly lead the nation to end the horror of slavery.
Lake Michigan is a popular place for the wealthy to build their homes. At one time, Illinois was considered to be the “Hog Butcher of the World,” which lead to the development of the Chicago Mercantile Exchange (CME). The State of Illinois has 13 x primary interstates passing through it including I-24, I-34, I-55, I-57, I-64, I-70, I-72, I-74, I-80, I-88, I-90 and I-94. The Illinois Secretary of State is responsible for enforcing the mandatory vehicle insurance laws.
Minimum Illinois Insurance Coverage
The State of Illinois requires liability insurance on all cars, vans, motorcycles, recreational vehicles and trucks. You must carry your insurance card in your vehicle to present to any law enforcement officer. Here is the minimum mandatory vehicle insurance for Illinois:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two persons
- $20,000 for property damage or destruction
Illinois uses a random questionnaire sampling process and traffic stops to check for insurance.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
De Witt County
|Jo Daviess County|
Rock Island County
St. Clair County
Penalties for Non-Compliance
Under the “625 ILCS 5/3-707 Sec. 3-707” “Operation of uninsured motor vehicle,” the first offense of not carrying insurance could lead to a minimum $500 fine and license suspension for 3 months. Subsequent offenses have a $1,000 minimum fine and license suspension for 3 months.
Repeat offenders must serve a four-month suspension, pay the $100 reinstatement fee and provide current evidence of insurance for three years. Illinois uninsured motorists rank 20th worst in the nation.
Illinois: Land of Lincoln
Enjoy the great activities in Illinois by adhering to the mandatory insurance laws. Fill out the form above for a free quote.