Idaho has been called the “Gem State” because of its rich diversity of jewels, especially star garnets. “Famous Potatoes” is the motto on Idaho license plates. Drivers in the State of Idaho must carry the minimum for personal injury and property damage insurance.
Idaho Motto: “May It Endure Forever”
The Comanche, Nez Perce and Shoshone Native-American tribes originally called this beautiful land their own. The Shoshone Falls, North Fork Clearwater River and Salmon River offer great site-seeing opportunities and may be the reason for the nickname of “Scenic Idaho.”
Lewiston, Idaho is a popular skiing area. Gooding, Idaho has the world’s largest factory for making barrel cheese. Numerous popular breweries get their malt from Idaho.
Boise is a big center for semiconductor manufacturing, especially dynamic random-access memory (DRAM) chips. The Idaho Transportation Department has maintained the north-south US-95 highway running through the entire state. Motorists must carry a minimum level of insurance to drive in the State of Idaho.
Minimum Idaho Insurance Coverage
The “Idaho Insurance Code Section 41-2502” and “Idaho Code Section 49-117(18)” establish that drivers in the state must carry proof of financial responsibility (insurance) for any liability “arising out of the ownership, maintenance or use of a motor vehicle.” Here are the required minimums for coverage:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two persons
- $15,000 for property damage or destruction
If you don’t want uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, you must reject it in writing.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
Bear Lake County
Nez Perce County
Twin Falls County
Penalties for Non-Compliance
Idaho drivers must present proof of insurance if they are pulled over. Idaho ranks 45th worst in the states for uninsured motorists. Idaho car insurance laws are presented in the following: “Idaho Code Section 49-1208” proof of insurance, “Idaho Code Section 49-1222” drivers license surrender and “Idaho Code Section 49-1229” required motor vehicle insurance.
The first offense for a lack of car insurance could lead to a fine of $75.00 and license suspension. For the year following conviction, you must maintain proof of financial responsibility. Subsequent offenses (within 5 years) could lead to a fine of up to $1,000, license suspension and/or jail time of 6 months. Violators must maintain proof of insurance for 3 years after conviction.
Idaho “Famous Potatoes”
Idaho is a beautiful state rich with potatoes, jewels and semiconductor chips. To drive in the State of Idaho legally, fill out the form above for a free quote.