Georgia was named after English King George III as the last of the original thirteen colonies – established in 1732. George means “farmer.” For some reason, the State of Georgia has developed a rich aura around it. It has been called the “Heart of the South” and inspired songs like “Georgia on my Mind.” If you want to enjoy Georgia diversity, then make sure to carry the minimum for automobile liability insurance.
Georgia Motto: “Wisdom, Justice & Moderation”
The State of Georgia is rich with flora and fauna. The primary agriculture exports are eggs, pecans, peaches and peanuts. Nearly every county has white-tailed deer. White hickories, cypress, sweetgum and yellow jasmine await visitors.
The Blue Ridge Mountains and Appalachian Mountains offer numerous climbing opportunities. The Savannah, Tugaloo and Seneca Rivers are great for fishing, swimming and boating. Numerous multinational corporations have their headquarters in the beautiful State of Georgia.
The Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT) maintains the main highways of I-20, I-75, I-85 and I-95. The Georgia Department of Insurance Consumer Services Division requires all consumers to carry the minimum for automobile liability insurance.
Minimum Georgia Insurance Coverage
The Georgia Office of Insurance & Safety Fire Commissioner requires bodily injury and property damage liability. Here are the required minimums for car insurance for the State of Georgia:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death per occurrence
- $25,000 for property damage or destruction
Uninsured motorist coverage is available, but not required under Georgia law. The Georgia Department of Insurance Consumer Services Division investigates all claims, complaints or issues with insurance companies. In order to comply with the Georgia insurance law, you only need to carry the 6 month minimum insurance policy.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
Indian River County
Palm Beach County
St. Johns County
St. Lucie County
Santa Rosa County
Penalties for Non-Compliance
The State of Georgia Statutes “Chapter 6 Section 40-6-10” discusses operation of motor vehicles and “Chapter 5 Section 40-5-70” discusses the suspension of driver’s license or failure to show proof of the required levels of automobile insurance.
The first offense fine is from $200 to $1,000 and/or jail for up to 12 months and suspension of license; a restoration fee is required if you want to start driving again. For each subsequent offense (within five-year period of first offense), the fine is from $200 to $1,000 and/or jail for up to 12 months and suspension of license; a restoration fee is required to drive again. The Georgia uninsured motorists rank 26th worst in the nation