Florida is a popular state for young people who want to enjoy the great recreation, entertainment and sports activities. Senior citizens appreciate the incredible weather for their retirement. If your vehicle has four wheels, then you must register it and purchase Florida insurance. The good news is RideCoverage.com can help you with getting a great rate on auto insurance. Either fill out the form above or give us a call at 1-800-965-0534
Volusia County Florida
Volusia is a county that is in North Central Florida and comprise the area surrounding the popular resort area of Daytona Beach Florida. It is not clear how Volusia got its name, but it may have been taken from the Euchee Indians. It could have also have been taken from a man named Voluz who owned a great deal of property in the area in the 1700s.these are just some of the theories surrounding the name. Another theory in how Volusia got its name was from the British or from a French Trading Post.
However Volusia got its name it has some of the great beach options that you are looking for. It is just one of he many facets of this county. No matter how it came by its origin one thing that is not in dispute is that Volusia became a county on December 29, 1854 and got the it’s name from the surrounding county. A failed colony by Andrew Turnbull took hold in Volusia prior to that time. It was also a Civil War fort established by General Winfield Scott in 1836. It is part of the greater Orlando area, and has been tied to St. Augustine and St. Johns in Florida.
The official site of Volusia County Florida can be found here for more facts and information: www.volusia.org
Minimum Florida Insurance Coverage
The State of Florida requires no-fault personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL) coverage. Here are the minimum requirements for the state:
- $10,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $10,000 for property damage or destruction
Florida bodily injury liability (BIL) pays for injuries to others if you are responsible for an accident. The percentage of Florida uninsured motorists ranks 2nd worst in the nation. You must show proof of insurance to Florida Highway Patrol.
Penalties for Non-Compliance
The first offense for driving without Florida insurance is suspension of license and registration until $150 reinstatement fee is paid and non-cancelable coverage is secured according to “Florida Statutes 324.0221.” The second offense can lead to a suspension of license and registration until $250 reinstatement fee is paid. The third offense (within 3 years of first reinstatement) can lead to a suspension of license and registration until $500 reinstatement fee is paid.
Select Your County in Florida Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
Indian River County
Palm Beach County
St. Johns County
St. Lucie County
Santa Rosa County