Florida is a popular state for young people who want to enjoy the great recreation, entertainment and sports activities. Senior citizens appreciate the incredible weather for their retirement. If your vehicle has four wheels, then you must register it and purchase Florida insurance. The good news is RideCoverage.com can help you with getting a great rate on auto insurance. Either fill out the form above or give us a call at 1-800-965-0534
St Lucie County Florida
St. Lucie County, FL has a rich history spanning over four centuries. Originally inhabited by the native Ais tribe, St. Lucie gains its name from the Spanish Fort Santa Lucia that was located near what is today town of Jupiter. The area currently known as St. Lucie County went by several different names in its past. As early as 1810 the region was simply called “East Florida” and eventually became “St. John’s County” and later “Mosquito County”. It wouldn’t be until 1905 that the area became St. Lucie.
St. Lucie County Seat is Fort Pierce, Florida. Named after Lt. Col. Benjamin K. Pierce who was a commanding officer during the Seminole Indian Wars. Fort Pierce is the home of Indian River State College as well as the Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute of Florida Atlantic University.
South of Fort Pierce is Fort St. Lucie which is the home of the spring training camp of the New York Mets and has several famous musicians such as country stars Garth Brooks and Tricia Yearwood, and Hip-Hop icons Ace Hood and Vanilla Ice.
St. Lucie county also has several tourist attractions such as the US Navy Seal Museum, the Heathcote Botanical Gardens, and the St. Lucie County Aquarium which houses the Smithsonian Marine Ecosystems Exhibit.
The official site of St Lucie County Florida can be found here for more facts and information: http://www.stlucieco.gov/
Minimum Florida Insurance Coverage
The State of Florida requires no-fault personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL) coverage. Here are the minimum requirements for the state:
- $10,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $10,000 for property damage or destruction
Florida bodily injury liability (BIL) pays for injuries to others if you are responsible for an accident. The percentage of Florida uninsured motorists ranks 2nd worst in the nation. You must show proof of insurance to Florida Highway Patrol.
Penalties for Non-Compliance
The first offense for driving without Florida insurance is suspension of license and registration until $150 reinstatement fee is paid and non-cancelable coverage is secured according to “Florida Statutes 324.0221.” The second offense can lead to a suspension of license and registration until $250 reinstatement fee is paid. The third offense (within 3 years of first reinstatement) can lead to a suspension of license and registration until $500 reinstatement fee is paid.
Select Your County in Florida Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
Indian River County
Palm Beach County
St. Johns County
St. Lucie County
Santa Rosa County