Many individuals love to visit the State of Florida searching for the fountain of youth. Before the Europeans arrived, the Seminoles created a rich culture in the Everglades. In 1513, the “Sunshine State” was established by the Spanish explorer Juan Ponce de Leon, who used the word for “flower” for its name.
Florida Motto: “Where the Sawgrass Meets the Sky”
Florida is a popular state for young people who want to enjoy the great recreation, entertainment and sports activities. Senior citizens appreciate the incredible weather for their retirement. If your vehicle has four wheels, then you must register it and purchase Florida insurance.
The Florida Department of Financial Services licenses insurance companies in the state. Insurance companies are required to report on which motorists have coverage. The Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles can suspend your driving privileges, license plate and registration for up to three years if you do not have valid insurance.
Minimum Florida Insurance Coverage
The State of Florida requires no-fault personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL) coverage. Here are the minimum requirements for the state:
- $10,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $10,000 for property damage or destruction
Florida bodily injury liability (BIL) pays for injuries to others if you are responsible for an accident. The percentage of Florida uninsured motorists ranks 2nd worst in the nation. You must show proof of insurance to Florida Highway Patrol.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
Indian River County
Palm Beach County
St. Johns County
St. Lucie County
Santa Rosa County
What About “Snow Birds”?
The State of Florida realizes that there will be numerous “snow birds” who will call the state home during the winter months; thus, it has developed visitor-friendly vehicle insurance laws. Even “snow birds” who reside in Florida for only a few months out of the year, must have a valid Florida license plate, registration and insurance policy. Owners who have “a vehicle in Florida for more than 90 days during a 365-day period must purchase injury and property damage insurance” – the 90 days do not need to be consecutive.
Penalties for Non-Compliance
The first offense for driving without Florida insurance is suspension of license and registration until $150 reinstatement fee is paid and non-cancelable coverage is secured according to “Florida Statutes 324.0221.” The second offense can lead to a suspension of license and registration until $250 reinstatement fee is paid. The third offense (within 3 years of first reinstatement) can lead to a suspension of license and registration until $500 reinstatement fee is paid.
Enjoy the sunshine and buffets in the State of Florida. Ensure your compliance with insurance regulations, just fill out the form at the top of the page for a free quote.