Delaware figured that the United States of America sounded like a really good idea when it became the “First State” to ratify the Constitution on December 7, 1787. More than 50% of all American-publicly traded companies are incorporated in Delaware due to its business-friendly tax laws. Make sure you have the proper Delaware insurance when you traverse the I-95 Delaware Turnpike across New Castle County.
Delaware: First State
Also known as the “Blue Hen State,” the State of Delaware has built a rich history behind this nickname. The story is that Captain Jonathan Caldwell bred Kent County Blue Hen Chickens. In fact, Delaware’s revolutionary troops in 1777 – who fought British General Sir William Howe – were nicknamed the “Blue Hen’s Chicks.”
The state’s topography is primarily flat with sandy and swampy ground along the Atlantic Ocean. The Delaware Department of Transportation (DDOT) maintains 13,507 miles of roads for its residents. The Delaware Turnpike and Korean War Veterans Memorial Highway are toll highways. If you want to reach the Delaware beaches from the Chesapeake Bay Bridge, then you can take Delaware Route 404.
Minimum Delaware Insurance Coverage
The State of Delaware requires liability insurance from a local company: “Insurance from other states will not be accepted to title and register vehicles in the State of Delaware.” Here are the required minimums for Delaware vehicle insurance:
- $15,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $30,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $10,000 for property damage or destruction
Delaware police officers require all motorists to carry a valid insurance identification card. Delaware is the 27th worst state for uninsured motorists.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
|Kent County||New Castle County||Sussex County|
Penalties for Non-Compliance
The Delaware “Division of Motor Vehicles (DDMV) audits vehicles for insurance compliance.” If you drive without Delaware insurance, the first offense (under “Delaware Code Title 21, 2118.s”) is a fine between $1,500 and $2,000 along with a six-month suspension of driving privileges. For each subsequent offense (occurring within 3 years), the fines are from $3,000 to $4,000 and a six-month suspension of driving privileges.
Motorists who are guilty of violating the law must surrender their license plates to the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DDMV). The DDMV will return the tags and license plates when proper insurance registration documentation is provided.
Delaware: Blue Hen State
You might not be able to be the first citizen of Delaware or own a blue hen, but you can still enjoy the attractions of the “First State” of the Union. Check out your auto insurance options at RideCoverage.com, simply fill out the form above for a free quote.