The State of Connecticut might have two of the most diverse nicknames around: “Nutmeg State” and “Constitution State.” In 1662, the local areas around New Haven were combined into a crown colony. As one of the original 13 colonies, the state has been entwined in most of the important historical developments for the United States of America. If you hope to drive on the I-95 Connecticut Turnpike, then make sure you are carrying the right automobile insurance coverage.
Connecticut State Song: “Yankee Doodle”
The State of Connecticut has a rich history including as one of the primary weapons suppliers in the 1900s: Bridgeport Remington Arms, New Haven Winchester and Hartford Colt, all household names. Pratt & Whitney engines were manufactured in Hartford, Connecticut. The states’ proximity to New York and New Jersey has created a Tri-State Area with numerous commuters crossing the borders.
“I am a Yankee Doodle Dandy! A real live nephew of my Uncle Sam! Born on the Fourth of July!”
Besides I-95, there are the I-84 southwest-northeast, I-91 center north-south and I-395 eastern north-south highways providing transportation throughout the state. ‘Under Connecticut law, the owner of a private passenger motor vehicle required to be registered in the state must provide and continuously maintain throughout the registration period financial security in accordance with ‘CGS Sections 38a-334 to 38a-343.” ‘ Connecticut State Police expect all drivers to carry an “insurance identification card” to prove that they have purchased the required financial security (insurance).
Minimum Connecticut Insurance Coverage
The State of Connecticut requires liability (personal and property) along with uninsured and under-insured insurance coverage. Here are the state minimums:
- $20,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $40,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $10,000 for property damage or destruction
Uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance is required at the same minimums as the aforementioned liability policies. The Connecticut uninsured motorist rate is the 41st worst in the country; the state seems to be successful in encouraging more drivers to carry car insurance.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
|New Haven County|
New London County
Penalties for Non-Compliance
Drivers in Connecticut are “prohibited from operating or permitting the operation of a vehicle without maintaining” proper insurance under “CGS Sections. 14-213b and 14-150b.” The first offense penalty is a $100 to $1,000 fine and one month suspension of license and registration. The second offense penalty is also a $100 to $1,000 fine and six months suspension of license and registration.
So, if you need to restock your nutmeg, then Connecticut has all that you need. Get the car insurance you need, simply fill out the form at the top of the page for a free quote.