The State of Colorado was formed as a free territory on February 28, 1861. Colorado means ruddy in Spanish. The rectangle-shaped Colorado has a well-designed highway system with I-25 as the north-south highway and I-70 as the east-west highway. Find out how to get the required automobile insurance coverage to reach that “Rocky Mountain High.”
Colorado: “Rocky Mountain High”
Mountains, forest, mesas, canyons, rivers and even deserts enable Colorado visitors to enjoy a wide range of exciting outdoor activities. Pikes Peak, the Colorado River and Glenwood Springs are some of the most popular tourist destinations. The State of Colorado requires drivers to carry personal and property liability insurance coverage.
Minimum Colorado Insurance Coverage
The State of Colorado is attempting to increase the percentage of its citizens who carry auto insurance. Colorado is the 9th worst state in terms of having a high percentage of uninsured motorists. The Colorado State Patrol may request you to show your “proof of financial responsibility” (which is the automobile insurance document for Colorado). Here are the state minimums for Colorado insurance coverage:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $15,000 for property damage or destruction
The property damage minimum is slightly lower than you will find in other states. While you are not required to carry any other insurance coverage in the State of Colorado, such as uninsured motorist, you are required to reject these policies in writing.
The State of Colorado also has a special program to help pay for the medical costs resulting from serious traffic accidents. This is called the Medical Pay (or MPC) program. If you do not “opt out” of the MPC program, then your insurer will hold $5,000 of your coverage for 30 days to pay for trauma bills.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
City and County of Broomfield
Clear Creek County
City and County of Denver
El Paso County
Kit Carson County
La Plata County
Las Animas County
Rio Blanco County
|Rio Grande County|
San Juan County
San Miguel County
Penalties for Non-Compliance
The Colorado penalties for driving without insurance are stated in “Title 42 Regulations of Vehicles” of statutes. These penalties could include fines, community service, license suspension and jail time.
The first offense could lead to a fine of more than $500, 40 hours of community service and license suspension. The second offense (within a period of five years) could lead to a fine of more than $1,000 along with 40 hours of community service, license suspension and jail time of anywhere from 10 to 365 days.
Enjoy the Rocky Mountains
Whether you want to ski the mountains, raft the rivers or simply relax in Colorado, make sure you carry the minimums for insurance coverage. Just fill out the form above for a free quote.