Arkansas is known as the “Nature State” due to its numerous beautiful parks along the Ozarks. Arkansas’ I-40 is the third-busiest trucking corridor in the nation. Learn about the requirements for automobile insurance coverage in the State of Arkansas.
Arkansas Motto: “The People Rule”
The State of Arkansas Insurance Department (AID) and Arkansas Highway Police enforce the requirement for all drivers to carry a minimum level of liability protection. Liability coverage is to protect you from lawsuits after you injure someone or damage property. If you are pulled over by law enforcement, you may be required to show your proof of insurance.
Minimum Arkansas Insurance Coverage
AID states that “it is unlawful for any person to operate a motor vehicle within this state unless the vehicle is insured” with the minimum personal liability coverage. Here are the required personal liability insurance minimums for Arkansas:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two persons
- $25,000 for property damage or destruction
Drivers can obtain auto liability insurance through the private market or the government’s “Assigned Risk Plan.” The State of Arkansas has the 11th worst ranking for uninsured motorists amongst the states.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
Hot Spring County
Little River County
|St. Francis County|
Van Buren County
Penalties for Non-Compliance
When you purchase coverage, ask for a “proof of insurance” card to keep in your glove compartment. The Arkansas ACA 27-22-103 statute establishes that if you are guilty of driving in Arkansas without insurance, you could be fined and possibly have your registration suspended.
The first offense is a fine of $50 to $250. The second offense is a fine of $250 to $500. The third offense is a fine of $500 to $1,000 and/or jail time of up to one year. There is a $20 reinstatement fee after vehicle registration suspension.
Tips for Finding Right Coverage
Automobile insurance coverage will be based on your age, gender and vehicle. Drivers between the ages of 16 and 25 with at least a “B” average might qualify for a “good student discount.” Young drivers can also submit proof of having completed a driver education course to receive discounts based on the National Conference of Driver Education standards.
There are also discounts for non-smokers and accident-free drivers. Senior citizens over 55 can earn a discount after completion of an Office of Motor Vehicles approved motor vehicle accident prevention course.
If you are ready to spend some time enjoying Arkansas parks or are driving through the state for work, get the auto insurance you need to remain in compliance. You can fill out the “RideCoverage.com” form above for a free quote.