Arising out of the 1853 Gadsden Purchase, the State of Arizona has become a great destination for enjoying the wide open desert spaces. The Grand Canyon National Park is one of the Seven Wonders of the Modern World. Those who operate motorized vehicles in the State of Arizona are required to carry mandatory insurance.
Arizona Motto: “God Enriches”
An estimated 73% of Arizona is desert festooned with the Saguaro Cacti (the State flower), chameleons and Cactus Wren (the State bird). The “Copper State” might have received its Arizona name (meaning “small spring”) from a silver mining camp at Planchas de Plata, Sonora.
Many don’t realize that Northern Arizona actually has Douglas fir and ski resorts at Flagstaff and Alpine. The Grand Canyon National Park was dug out by the Colorado River for over 277 miles (446 kilometers).
The main north-south roads are I-17 and I-19. The main east-west highways are I-8, I-10 and I-40. The Arizona Motor Vehicle Department (AMVD) requires you to carry mandatory insurance for all motorized vehicles, including automobiles, trucks, golf carts, mopeds and motorcycles.
Yes, Even Golf Carts
All motorized vehicles, even golf carts, registered in Arizona must be insured by an Arizona company. The exception to this rule is for military personnel, who can place a “De-Insured” Certificate on their vehicle for a short amount of time.
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
La Paz County
Santa Cruz County
Minimum Arizona Insurance Coverage
The Arizona Department of Public Safety will enforce the mandatory insurance requirements during traffic stops. Here are the minimums for Arizona motor vehicle insurance:
- $15,000 for bodily injury or death of one person
- $30,000 for bodily injury or death of two persons
- $10,000 for property damage or destruction
Penalties for Non-Compliance
Under “ARS 28-4135,” the first offense for not carrying the mandatory motor vehicle insurance is a fine of $500, suspension of license and registration for three months. The second offense (within 3 years) could lead to a fine of at least $750, suspension of license and registration for six months. The third offense (within 3 years) could lead to a fine of at least $1,000, suspension of license and registration for 1 year.
In order to regain your license, plates and registration, you must hold the SR22 form for three years after suspension. Arizona uninsured motorists rank 29th worst in the country.
Arizona State Flower: Saguaro Cactus
The Grand Canyon National Park is an amazing sight. If you want to cruise the Arizona highways and byways legally, then fill out the form above for a free quote.