On March 30, 1867, “Seward’s Folly” added the Alaskan territory to the United States at a price of two cents per acre. The “Last Frontier” is famous for its whale sighting tours, fishing, crude oil and Denali National Park (the highest mountain in North America). For most areas of Alaska, you will need to carry car insurance.
Alaska: “The Last Frontier”
About 15% of the Alaskan population consists of Eskimos who might live in very remote areas. Some Alaskan towns only have access via air or water. The State of Alaska has made some insurance registration concessions for these small rural towns.
The State of Alaska Department of Administration Division of Motor Vehicles requires motorists to carry personal and property liability car insurance. “Alaska Statute 28.22.101” states that the “owner’s motor vehicle liability policy must … insure the person named against loss from the liability imposed by law for damages that arise from the ownership, maintenance, or use of a designated motor vehicle.”
Select Your County Below to Start the Insurance Quote Process:
|Aleutians West Census Area|
Bethel Census Area
Bristol Bay Borough
Dillingham Census Area
Fairbanks North Star Borough
Kenai Peninsula Borough
Ketchikan Gateway Borough
Kodiak Island Borough
Lake and Peninsula Borough
North Slope Borough
Northwest Arctic Borough
Prince of Wales br /> Sitka
|Municipality of Skagway|
Minimum Alaska Insurance Coverage
Proof of insurance must be in the person’s possession at all times when driving a motor vehicle and presented to a peace officer or official representative of the Department of Public Safety. The Municipality of Anchorage might impound your vehicle if you do not have proof of insurance. The minimum insurance amounts required by the State of Alaska are the following:
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $100,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $25,000 for property damage or destruction
Alaska uninsured motorists rank 21st amongst the states.
Remote Areas May Be Exempt
Remote areas without roads in the State of Alaska might not require insurance and registration (although if a motorist received a ticket for a violation of 6 points or more within the previous 5 years, he might be required to carry liability insurance.) “Alaska Statutes Section 28.22.011(1)” declares exceptions if ” …. the motor vehicle is being driven or moved on a highway, vehicular way, or a public parking place in the state that is not connected by a land highway or vehicular way to.”
Penalties for Non-Compliance
The primary penalty for failure to carry adequate insurance in Alaska is license suspension. The “Alaska Code 28.22.041” states that the first offense leads to the suspension of license for 90 days or longer. Subsequent offenses (within 10 years) leads to license suspension for 1 year or longer.
Alaska Official Flower: “Forget-Me-Not”
Don’t forget to purchase the required automobile insurance for your sojourn in Alaska. You can get started today, just fill out the form above for a free quote.